Many library services and hours are adjusted due to COVID-19. Please check the library's website for updates.

Vaughn Public Library - Ashland

Disorientation: A Novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2022
Language:
English
Description
“The funniest, most poignant novel of the year.” —Vogue

Disorientation does what great comedies and satires are supposed to do: make you laugh while forcing you to ponder the uncomfortable implications of every punchline.” The Washington Post

A Taiwanese American woman’s coming-of-consciousness ignites eye-opening revelations and chaos on a college campus in this outrageously hilarious and startlingly tender debut novel.


Twenty-nine-year-old PhD student Ingrid Yang is desperate to finish her dissertation on the late canonical poet Xiao-Wen Chou and never read about “Chinese-y” things again. But after years of grueling research, all she has to show for her efforts are junk food addiction and stomach pain. When she accidentally stumbles upon a curious note in the Chou archives one afternoon, she convinces herself it’s her ticket out of academic hell.
 
But Ingrid’s in much deeper than she thinks. Her clumsy exploits to unravel the note’s message lead to an explosive discovery, upending not only her sheltered life within academia but her entire world beyond it. With her trusty friend Eunice Kim by her side and her rival Vivian Vo hot on her tail, together they set off a roller coaster of mishaps and misadventures, from book burnings and OTC drug hallucinations, to hot-button protests and Yellow Peril 2.0 propaganda.
 
In the aftermath, nothing looks the same to Ingrid—including her gentle and doting fiancé, Stephen Greene. When he embarks on a book tour with the super kawaii Japanese author he’s translated, doubts and insecurities creep in for the first time… As the events Ingrid instigated keep spiraling, she’ll have to confront her sticky relationship to white men and white institutions—and, most of all, herself.
 
For readers of Paul Beatty’s The Sellout and Charles Yu’s Interior Chinatown, this uproarious and bighearted satire is a blistering send-up of privilege and power in America, and a profound reckoning of individual complicity and unspoken rage. In this electrifying debut novel from a provocative new voice, Elaine Hsieh Chou asks who gets to tell our stories—and how the story changes when we finally tell it ourselves.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780593298350
9780593298367
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID1bead355-a609-cd2f-ea96-2789d56addbc
Grouping Titledisorientation
Grouping Authorelaine hsieh chou
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2022-05-23 04:40:32AM
Last Indexed2022-05-23 06:04:01AM
Novelist Primary ISBN9780593298350

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorChou, Elaine Hsieh
author_displayChou, Elaine Hsieh
detailed_location_ashlandAshland Adult Fiction
Online OverDrive Collection
display_description"A struggling PhD student makes a shocking discovery about a famous Chinese American poet that sets into motion a series of escalating events, both humorous and fraught, that culminates in an incendiary reckoning of her relationships, beliefs, and identity"--
format_ashlandBook
eBook
format_category_ashlandBooks
eBook
id1bead355-a609-cd2f-ea96-2789d56addbc
isbn9780593298350
9780593298367
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
ils:.b21049464.i34714182Ashland Adult FictionCHOU1falsefalseOn HoldshelfMay 21, 2022asfic
ils:.b21049464.i34670324Washburn Adult FictionFIC CHO1falsefalseDue Jun 16, 2022wafic
overdrive:30dbdcff-f114-4701-8227-19334fa9306e-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook3falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
overdrive:30dbdcff-f114-4701-8227-19334fa9306e1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
itype_ashlandBOOK - HARDCOVER
last_indexed2022-05-23T11:04:01.914Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_ashlandCHOU
Online OverDrive
local_time_since_added_ashlandQuarter
Six Months
Year
owning_library_ashlandAshland Vaughn Public Library
Ashland Vaughn Public Library Online
owning_location_ashlandAshland Vaughn Public Library
Online OverDrive Collection
primary_isbn9780593298350
publishDate2022
publisherPenguin Press,
Penguin Publishing Group
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
ils:.b21049464BookBooksEnglishPenguin Press2022403 pages ; 24 cm.
overdrive:30dbdcff-f114-4701-8227-19334fa9306eeBookeBookEnglishPenguin Publishing Group2022
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_ashland
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b21049464.i34714182Checked OutOn Holdshelffalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue9999
ils:.b21049464.i34670324Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruetruefalsefalse99999999
overdrive:30dbdcff-f114-4701-8227-19334fa9306e-1Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:30dbdcff-f114-4701-8227-19334fa9306e1Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue
subject_facetChinese American women -- Fiction
Discrimination in higher education -- United States -- Fiction
Education, Higher -- United States -- Fiction
Women doctoral students -- United States -- Fiction
title_displayDisorientation
title_fullDisorientation / Elaine Hsieh Chou
Disorientation A Novel
title_shortDisorientation
title_subA Novel
topic_facetChinese American women
Discrimination in higher education
Education, Higher
Fiction
Literature
Women doctoral students