Many library services and hours are adjusted due to COVID-19. Please check the library's website for updates.

Vaughn Public Library - Ashland

Book of night

Book Cover
Average Rating
Author:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description

In the vein of Neil Gaiman and Erin Morgenstern, #1 NYT bestselling author Holly Black’s stunning new audiobook is a dark fantasy of betrayals and cabals with a dissolute thief of shadows at the center of it all.

Charlie Hall has never found a lock she couldn’t pick, a book she couldn’t steal, or a bad decision she wouldn’t make.

She's spent half her life working for gloamists, magicians who manipulate shadows to peer into locked rooms, strangle people in their beds, or worse. Gloamists guard their secrets greedily, creating an underground economy of grimoires. And to rob their fellow magicians, they need Charlie Hall.

Now, she’s trying to distance herself from past mistakes, but getting out isn’t easy. Bartending at a dive, she’s still entirely too close to the corrupt underbelly of the Berkshires. Not to mention that her sister Posey is desperate for magic, and that Charlie's shadowless, and possibly soulless, boyfriend has been hiding things from her. When a terrible figure from her past returns, Charlie descends into a maelstrom of murder and lies.

Determined to survive, she’s up against a cast of doppelgangers, mercurial billionaires, gloamists, and the people she loves best in the world—all trying to steal a secret that will give them vast and terrible power

"Dark, strange, thick with mystery and twists—a story so believable in its magic, you'll be keeping one eye on your shadow as you turn the pages." —Leigh Bardugo, New York Times bestselling author of Ninth House

"If Neil Gaiman channeled Stephen King, the result might be this book...scintillating prose, whiplash twists, and a voice of character that demands to be heard from again.”— ames Rollins, New York Times bestselling author of The Starless Crown

“Heart, soul, and a bit of kink—The Book of Night is smart, decadent fun.”—Kelly Link, Pulitzer Prize Finalist


A Macmillan Audio production from Tor Books.

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9781250812193
9781250850133
9781250812209
9781250850126
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID7e868311-f23b-ad9b-c115-80cd0cff2f80
Grouping Titlebook of night
Grouping Authorholly black
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2022-10-01 04:40:33AM
Last Indexed2022-10-01 05:58:22AM

Solr Fields

accelerated_reader_point_value
0
accelerated_reader_reading_level
0
auth_author2
Amini, Sara
author
Black, Holly
author2-role
Amini, Sara,narrator
author_display
Black, Holly
detailed_location_ashland
Ashland Adult Audiobooks Fiction
Ashland Adult Science Fiction
Online OverDrive Collection
display_description
"#1 New York Times bestselling author Holly Black makes her stunning adult debut with Book of Night, a modern dark fantasy of shadowy thieves and secret societies in the vein of Ninth House and The Night Circus. One of Publishers Weekly's top ten most anticipated books of 2022! Charlie Hall has never found a lock she couldn't pick, a book she couldn't steal, or a bad decision she wouldn't make. She's spent half her life working for gloamists, magicians who manipulate shadows to peer into locked rooms, strangle people in their beds, or worse. Gloamists guard their secrets greedily, creating an underground economy of grimoires. And to rob their fellow magicians, they need Charlie. Now, she's trying to distance herself from past mistakes, but going straight isn't easy. Bartending at a dive, she's still entirely too close to the corrupt underbelly of the Berkshires. Not to mention that her sister Posey is desperate for magic, and that her shadowless and possibly soulless boyfriend has been keeping secrets from her. When a terrible figure from her past returns, Charlie descends back into a maelstrom of murder and lies. Determined to survive, she's up against a cast of doppelg衮gers, mercurial billionaires, gloamists, and the people she loves best in the world- all trying to steal a secret that will allow them control of the shadow world and more. "Dark, strange, thick with mystery and twists-Book of Night is everything delicious and frightening I've come to expect from Holly Black. It's a story so believablein its magic, you'll be keeping one eye on your shadow as you turn the pages." -Leigh Bardugo, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Ninth House "Black is a master at world-building."-The New York Times Book Review "No one writes like Holly Black."-John Green, #1 New York Times bestselling author"--
format_ashland
Book
CD Unabridged
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_ashland
Audio Books
Books
eBook
id
7e868311-f23b-ad9b-c115-80cd0cff2f80
isbn
9781250812193
9781250812209
9781250850126
9781250850133
itype_ashland
AUDIOBOOK ON CD UNABRIDGED
BOOK - HARDCOVER
BOOK - NEW SHORT LOAN
last_indexed
2022-10-01T10:58:22.929Z
lexile_score
-1
literary_form
Fiction
literary_form_full
Fiction
local_callnumber_ashland
CDBK BLACK
Online OverDrive
SF BLACK
local_time_since_added_ashland
Six Months
Year
owning_library_ashland
Ashland Vaughn Public Library
Ashland Vaughn Public Library Online
owning_location_ashland
Ashland Vaughn Public Library
Online OverDrive Collection
primary_isbn
9781250812193
publishDate
2022
publisher
Macmillan Audio
TOR, Tom Doherty Associates
Tor Publishing Group
recordtype
grouped_work
subject_facet
Audiobooks
Bartenders -- Fiction
Fantasy fiction
Female offenders -- Fiction
Horror fiction
Magic -- Fiction
Magicians -- Fiction
Massachusetts -- Fiction
Murder -- Fiction
Paranormal fiction
Secrecy -- Fiction
Secret societies -- Fiction
Shades and shadows -- Fiction
Thieves -- Fiction
Thrillers (Fiction)
title_display
Book of night
title_full
Book of Night
Book of night / Holly Black
title_short
Book of night
topic_facet
Bartenders
Fantasy
Female offenders
Fiction
Literature
Magic
Magicians
Murder
Secrecy
Secret societies
Shades and shadows
Thieves
Thriller

Solr Details Tables

item_details

Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
overdrive:34582702-d8ca-43ed-a22e-084b1e93df2c-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook8falsetrueOverDriveChecked Out
overdrive:34582702-d8ca-43ed-a22e-084b1e93df2c1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveChecked Out
ils:.b2107012x.i34728235Ashland Adult Audiobooks FictionCDBK BLACK1falsefalseDue Oct 17, 2022Jul 26, 2022asaud
overdrive:df111916-863c-4ea8-82c8-d2ff21895aeb1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books0falsetrueOverDriveChecked Out
overdrive:df111916-863c-4ea8-82c8-d2ff21895aeb-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books3falsetrueOverDriveChecked Out
ils:.b21057837.i34752821Washburn Adult FictionFIC BLA1falsefalseDue Sep 16, 2022Jul 06, 2022wafic
ils:.b21057837.i34710711Cable Adult FictionFIC BLA1falsefalseAvailableJul 25, 2022cafic
ils:.b21057837.i34798754Land O Lakes Young Adult FictionYA BLA1falsefalseDue Sep 28, 2022Aug 01, 2022loyfi
ils:.b21057837.i34772170Sayner Adult FictionBLACK1falsefalseAvailableJul 19, 2022safic
ils:.b21057837.i34727073Hurley Adult FictionF BLA1falsefalseAvailableJun 06, 2022hufic
ils:.b21057837.i3471358xMercer Adult FictionF BLA1falsefalseAvailableJul 21, 2022mrfic
ils:.b21057837.i34748052Presque Isle Adult FictionF Bla1falsefalseAvailableAug 20, 2022piafi
ils:.b21057837.i34708443Hayward Adult And Young Adult FictionBLA1falsefalseIn TransitSep 29, 2022hafic
ils:.b21057837.i34683823Ashland Adult Science FictionSF BLACK1falsefalseDue Oct 20, 2022Aug 31, 2022asasf
ils:.b21057837.i34733231Lac Courte Oreilles FantasyFANTASY BLACK1falsefalseAvailableSep 02, 2022lcfan
ils:.b21057837.i34722373Eagle River Adult Science FictionSF BLA1falsefalseAvailableSep 09, 2022ersci
ils:.b21057837.i34731581Bayfield Adult FictionFIC BLA1falsefalseAvailableJun 18, 2022bafic
ils:.b21057837.i34720078Grantsburg Adult FictionNEW BLACK1falsefalseAvailableSep 06, 2022grfic
ils:.b21057837.i34723535Boulder Junction Adult FictionFIC BLA1falsefalseAvailableJul 16, 2022bjafi

record_details

Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
overdrive:34582702-d8ca-43ed-a22e-084b1e93df2ceBookeBookEnglishTor Publishing Group2022
ils:.b2107012xCD UnabridgedAudio BooksUnabridgedEnglishMacmillan Audio[2022]10 audio discs (12 hours, 30 minutes) ; 4 3/4 in.
overdrive:df111916-863c-4ea8-82c8-d2ff21895aebeAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishMacmillan Audio2022
ils:.b21057837BookBooksFirst EditionEnglishTOR, Tom Doherty Associates2022306 pages ; 25 cm

scoping_details_ashland

Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:34582702-d8ca-43ed-a22e-084b1e93df2c-1Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:34582702-d8ca-43ed-a22e-084b1e93df2c1Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:.b2107012x.i34728235Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue9999
overdrive:df111916-863c-4ea8-82c8-d2ff21895aeb1Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue
overdrive:df111916-863c-4ea8-82c8-d2ff21895aeb-1Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b21057837.i34752821Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruetruefalsefalse99999999
ils:.b21057837.i34710711On ShelfAvailablefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse9999
ils:.b21057837.i34798754Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruetruefalsefalse99999999
ils:.b21057837.i34772170On ShelfAvailablefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse9999
ils:.b21057837.i34727073On ShelfAvailablefalsetruetruetruefalsefalse99999999
ils:.b21057837.i3471358xOn ShelfAvailablefalsetruetruetruefalsefalse99999999
ils:.b21057837.i34748052On ShelfAvailablefalsetruetruetruefalsefalse99999999
ils:.b21057837.i34708443In TransitIn Transitfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse9999
ils:.b21057837.i34683823Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue9999
ils:.b21057837.i34733231On ShelfAvailablefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse9999
ils:.b21057837.i34722373On ShelfAvailablefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse9999
ils:.b21057837.i34731581On ShelfAvailablefalsetruetruetruefalsefalse99999999
ils:.b21057837.i34720078On ShelfAvailablefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse9999
ils:.b21057837.i34723535On ShelfAvailablefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse9999