Many library services and hours are adjusted due to COVID-19. Please check the library's website for updates.

Vaughn Public Library - Ashland

How I became a tree
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Author:
Contributors:
Das, Nikhil, illustrator.
Published:
New Haven : Yale University Press, 2021.
Format:
Book
Physical Desc:
236 pages : illustrations ; 23 cm.
Status:
1 copy, 1 person is on the wait list.
Description
An exquisite, lovingly crafted meditation on plants, trees, and our place in the natural world, in the tradition of Robin Wall Kimmerer's Braiding Sweetgrass and Annie Dillard's Pilgrim at Tinker Creek
  
'Sumana Roy has written'grown'a radiant and wondrous book.''Robert Macfarlane, author of The Old Ways: A Journey on Foot
 
'Beautiful. . . . Roy weaves together science, nature, personal narrative, literature, sociology, and more to keep the reader turning pages'and to turn us all into tree-lovers.''Kateri Kramer, The Rumpus
 
'I was tired of speed. I wanted to live tree time.' So writes Sumana Roy at the start of How I Became a Tree, her captivating, adventurous, and self-reflective vision of what it means to be human in the natural world.
 
Drawn to trees' wisdom, their nonviolent way of being, their ability to cope with loneliness and pain, Roy movingly explores the lessons that writers, painters, photographers, scientists, and spiritual figures have gleaned through their engagement with trees'from Rabindranath Tagore to Tomas Tranströmer, Ovid to Octavio Paz, William Shakespeare to Margaret Atwood. Her stunning meditations on forests, plant life, time, self, and the exhaustion of being human evoke the spacious, relaxed rhythms of the trees themselves.
 
Hailed upon its original publication in India as 'a love song to plants and trees' and 'an ode to all that is unnoticed, ill, neglected, and yet resilient,' How I Became a Tree blends literary history, theology, philosophy, botany, and more, and ultimately prompts readers to slow down and to imagine a reenchanted world in which humans live more like trees.
Also in This Series
Copies
Location
Call Number
Status
Ashland Adult Nonfiction
634 ROY
Due Nov 4, 2021
More Like This
More Details
Language:
English
ISBN:
030026044X, 9780300260441

Notes

General Note
"First published in India in 2017 by Aleph Book Company."--Title page verso.
Bibliography
Includes bibliographical references.
Description
"An exquisite, lovingly crafted meditation on plants, trees, and our place in the natural world, in the tradition of Robin Wall Kimmerer's Braiding Sweetgrass and Annie Dillard's Pilgrim at Tinker Creek. "I was tired of speed. I wanted to live tree time." So writes Sumana Roy at the start of How I Became a Tree, her captivating, adventurous, and self-reflective vision of what it means to be human in the natural world. Drawn to trees' wisdom, their nonviolent way of being, their ability to cope with loneliness and pain, Roy movingly explores the lessons that writers, painters, photographers, scientists, and spiritual figures have gleaned through their engagement with trees--from Rabindranath Tagore to Tomas Transtṟmer, Ovid to Octavio Paz, William Shakespeare to Margaret Atwood. Her stunning meditations on forests, plant life, time, self, and the exhaustion of being human evoke the spacious, relaxed rhythms of the trees themselves. Hailed upon its original publication in India as "a love song to plants and trees" and "an ode to all that is unnoticed, ill, neglected, and yet resilient," How I Became a Tree blends literary history, theology, philosophy, botany, and more, and ultimately prompts readers to slow down and to imagine a reenchanted world in which humans live more like trees."--Provided by publisher.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Roy, S., & Das, N. (2021). How I became a tree. New Haven: Yale University Press.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Roy, Sumana and Nikhil, Das. 2021. How I Became a Tree. New Haven: Yale University Press.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Roy, Sumana and Nikhil, Das, How I Became a Tree. New Haven: Yale University Press, 2021.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Roy, Sumana,, and Nikhil Das. How I Became a Tree. New Haven: Yale University Press, 2021. Print.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
cbe91920-f0e4-9878-7f91-65cb1b09d13c
Go To GroupedWork

Record Information

Last Sierra Extract TimeOct 27, 2021 02:19:30 PM
Last File Modification TimeOct 27, 2021 02:20:36 PM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeOct 27, 2021 02:19:48 PM

MARC Record

LEADER02373nam 2200289 i 4500
008210312s2021    ctua   e b    000 0 eng d
020 |a 030026044X|q (hardcover)
020 |a 9780300260441|q (hardcover)
040 |a YDX|b eng|e rda|c YDX|d BDX|d YUS|d TnLvILS
1001 |a Roy, Sumana,|e author.
24510|a How I became a tree /|c Sumana Roy.
264 1|a New Haven :|b Yale University Press,|c 2021.
300 |a 236 pages :|b illustrations ;|c 23 cm.
336 |a text|b txt|2 rdacontent
337 |a unmediated|b n|2 rdamedia
338 |a volume|b nc|2 rdacarrier
500 |a "First published in India in 2017 by Aleph Book Company."--Title page verso.
504 |a Includes bibliographical references.
520 |a "An exquisite, lovingly crafted meditation on plants, trees, and our place in the natural world, in the tradition of Robin Wall Kimmerer's Braiding Sweetgrass and Annie Dillard's Pilgrim at Tinker Creek. "I was tired of speed. I wanted to live tree time." So writes Sumana Roy at the start of How I Became a Tree, her captivating, adventurous, and self-reflective vision of what it means to be human in the natural world. Drawn to trees' wisdom, their nonviolent way of being, their ability to cope with loneliness and pain, Roy movingly explores the lessons that writers, painters, photographers, scientists, and spiritual figures have gleaned through their engagement with trees--from Rabindranath Tagore to Tomas Transtṟmer, Ovid to Octavio Paz, William Shakespeare to Margaret Atwood. Her stunning meditations on forests, plant life, time, self, and the exhaustion of being human evoke the spacious, relaxed rhythms of the trees themselves. Hailed upon its original publication in India as "a love song to plants and trees" and "an ode to all that is unnoticed, ill, neglected, and yet resilient," How I Became a Tree blends literary history, theology, philosophy, botany, and more, and ultimately prompts readers to slow down and to imagine a reenchanted world in which humans live more like trees."--Provided by publisher.
650 0|a Human beings|x Effect of environment on.
650 0|a Human geography.
650 0|a Trees.
650 0|a Human ecology.
7001 |a Das, Nikhil,|e illustrator.
907 |a .b20985368
945 |y .i34426668|i 39576101060113|l asanf|s -|h 211104|u 1|x 0|w 1|v 1|t 100|z 210920|r m|a 634 ROY
998 |h z|e l |f eng|a as