Many library services and hours are adjusted due to COVID-19. Please check the library's website for updates.

Vaughn Public Library - Ashland

The Mosquito Bowl: a game of life and death in World War II
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published:
New York, NY : HarperCollins Publishers, 2022.
Format:
Book
Edition:
First edition.
Physical Desc:
xv, 461 pages, 8 unnumbered pages of plates : black and white illustrations, maps ; 23 cm
Status:
10 copies, 1 person is on the wait list.
Ashland Adult Nonfiction
940.54 BIS
Description

Instant New York Times Bestseller

“Buzz Bissinger’s Friday Night Lights is an American classic. With The Mosquito Bowl, he is back with a true story even more colorful and profound. This book too is destined to become a classic. I devoured it.” — John Grisham

An extraordinary, untold story of the Second World War in the vein of Unbroken and The Boys in the Boat, from the author of Friday Night Lights and Three Nights in August.

When the Japanese attacked Pearl Harbor, college football was at the height of its popularity.  As the nation geared up for total war, one branch of the service dominated the aspirations of college football stars: the United States Marine Corps. Which is why, on Christmas Eve of 1944, when the 4th and 29th Marine regiments found themselves in the middle of the Pacific Ocean training for what would be the bloodiest battle of the war – the invasion of Okinawa—their ranks included one of the greatest pools of football talent ever assembled: Former All Americans, captains from Wisconsin and Brown and Notre Dame, and nearly twenty men who were either drafted or would ultimately play in the NFL.   

When the trash-talking between the 4th and 29th over who had the better football team reached a fever pitch, it was decided: The two regiments would play each other in a football game as close to the real thing as you could get in the dirt and coral of Guadalcanal.  The bruising and bloody game that followed became known as “The Mosquito Bowl.” 

Within a matter of months, 15 of the 65 players in “The Mosquito Bowl” would be killed at Okinawa, by far the largest number of American athletes ever to die in a single battle. The Mosquito Bowl is the story of these brave and beautiful young men, those who survived and those who did not.  It is the story of the families and the landscape that shaped them. It is a story of a far more innocent time in both college athletics and the life of the country, and of the loss of that innocence.  

Writing with the style and rigor that won him a Pulitzer Prize and have made several of his books modern classics, Buzz Bissinger takes us from the playing fields of America’s campuses where boys played at being Marines, to the final time they were allowed to still be boys on that field of dirt and coral, to the darkest and deadliest days that followed at Okinawa. 

Also in This Series
Copies
Location
Call Number
Status
Last Check-In
Ashland Adult Nonfiction
940.54 BIS
Available
Dec 1, 2022
Location
Call Number
Status
Last Check-In
Hayward Adult And Young Adult Nonfiction
940.54 BIS
Due Dec 17, 2022
Hayward Adult And Young Adult Nonfiction
NEW 940.54 BIS c.2
Due Dec 9, 2022
Hurley Adult Nonfiction
940.54 BIS
Due Dec 8, 2022
Lac Courte Oreilles Adult Nonfiction
940.5425 BIS
In Transit
Mellen Adult Nonfiction
940.54 BIS
In Transit
Mercer Adult Nonfiction
940.54 BIS History
Available
Nov 18, 2022
Sayner Adult Nonfiction
NEW 940.54 BIS
Due Dec 21, 2022
Superior Adult Nonfiction
NEW 940.5425 B544m
Available
Dec 1, 2022
Winter Nonfiction
940.5425 BIS
In Processing
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Details
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780062879929, 0062879928

Notes

Bibliography
Includes bibliographical references.
Description
When the Japanese attacked Pearl Harbor, college football was at the height of its popularity. As the nation geared up for total war, one branch of the service dominated the aspirations of college football stars: the United States Marine Corps. Which is why, on Christmas Eve of 1944, when the 4th and 29th Marine regiments found themselves in the middle of the Pacific Ocean training for what would be the bloodiest battle of the war - the invasion of Okinawa--their ranks included one of the greatest pools of football talent ever assembled: Former All Americans, captains from Wisconsin and Brown and Notre Dame, and nearly twenty men who were either drafted or would ultimately play in the NFL. When the trash-talking between the 4th and 29th over who had the better football team reached a fever pitch, it was decided: The two regiments would play each other in a football game as close to the real thing as you could get in the dirt and coral of Guadalcanal. The bruising and bloody game that followed became known as "The Mosquito Bowl." Within a matter of months, fifteen of the 64 the players in "The Mosquito Bowl" would be killed at Okinawa, by far the largest number of American athletes ever to die in a single battle. The Mosquito Bowl is the story of these brave and beautiful young men, those who survived and those who did not. It is the story of the families and the landscape that shaped them. It is a story of a far more innocent time in both college athletics and the life of the country, and of the loss of that innocence. Writing with the style and rigor that won him a Pulitzer Prize and have made several of his books modern classics, Buzz Bissinger takes us from the playing fields of America's campuses where boys played at being Marines, to the final time they were allowed to still be boys on that field of dirt and coral, to the darkest and deadliest days that followed at Okinawa.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Bissinger, B. (2022). The Mosquito Bowl: a game of life and death in World War II. First edition. New York, NY, HarperCollins Publishers.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Bissinger, Buzz, 1954-. 2022. The Mosquito Bowl: A Game of Life and Death in World War II. New York, NY, HarperCollins Publishers.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Bissinger, Buzz, 1954-, The Mosquito Bowl: A Game of Life and Death in World War II. New York, NY, HarperCollins Publishers, 2022.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Bissinger, Buzz. The Mosquito Bowl: A Game of Life and Death in World War II. First edition. New York, NY, HarperCollins Publishers, 2022.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2022. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
a5d0a064-b8e6-7d8a-4ab5-8d801d6a6667
Go To GroupedWork

Record Information

Last Sierra Extract TimeDec 03, 2022 08:27:51 PM
Last File Modification TimeDec 03, 2022 08:27:57 PM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeDec 03, 2022 08:27:55 PM

MARC Record

LEADER04730nam 2200565 i 4500
001sky305262979
008220218t20222022nyuab  e b    000 0 eng d
020 |a 9780062879929|q (hardcover)
020 |a 0062879928|q (hardcover)
040 |a MvI-NWLS|b eng|e rda|c MvI-NWLS|d cu|d UtOrBLW|d SKYRV
043 |a a-ja---|a n-us---
0820 |a 940
1001 |a Bissinger, Buzz,|d 1954-|e author.
24514|a The Mosquito Bowl :|b a game of life and death in World War II /|c Buzz Bissinger.
2463 |a Game of Life and Death in World War II
2463 |a Mosquito Bowl :|b a game of life and death in World War Two
250 |a First edition.
264 1|a New York, NY :|b HarperCollins Publishers,|c 2022.
264 4|c ©2022
300 |a xv, 461 pages, 8 unnumbered pages of plates :|b black and white illustrations, maps ;|c 23 cm
336 |a text|b txt|2 rdacontent
337 |a unmediated|b n|2 rdamedia
338 |a volume|b nc|2 rdacarrier
504 |a Includes bibliographical references.
520 |a When the Japanese attacked Pearl Harbor, college football was at the height of its popularity. As the nation geared up for total war, one branch of the service dominated the aspirations of college football stars: the United States Marine Corps. Which is why, on Christmas Eve of 1944, when the 4th and 29th Marine regiments found themselves in the middle of the Pacific Ocean training for what would be the bloodiest battle of the war - the invasion of Okinawa--their ranks included one of the greatest pools of football talent ever assembled: Former All Americans, captains from Wisconsin and Brown and Notre Dame, and nearly twenty men who were either drafted or would ultimately play in the NFL. When the trash-talking between the 4th and 29th over who had the better football team reached a fever pitch, it was decided: The two regiments would play each other in a football game as close to the real thing as you could get in the dirt and coral of Guadalcanal. The bruising and bloody game that followed became known as "The Mosquito Bowl." Within a matter of months, fifteen of the 64 the players in "The Mosquito Bowl" would be killed at Okinawa, by far the largest number of American athletes ever to die in a single battle. The Mosquito Bowl is the story of these brave and beautiful young men, those who survived and those who did not. It is the story of the families and the landscape that shaped them. It is a story of a far more innocent time in both college athletics and the life of the country, and of the loss of that innocence. Writing with the style and rigor that won him a Pulitzer Prize and have made several of his books modern classics, Buzz Bissinger takes us from the playing fields of America's campuses where boys played at being Marines, to the final time they were allowed to still be boys on that field of dirt and coral, to the darkest and deadliest days that followed at Okinawa.
61010|a United States.|b Marine Corps|x Football.
61020|a National Football League.
650 0|a Americans|z Japan|z Okinawa Island.
650 0|a Marines.
650 0|a Pearl Harbor (Hawaii), Attack on, 1941.
650 0|a Soldiers|z United States|v Biography.
650 0|a World War, 1939-1945.
650 0|a Football and war|z United States.
650 0|a Football players|z United States|v Biography.
650 0|a Football|z United States|x History.
651 0|a Okinawa Island (Japan)
655 7|a Biographies.|2 lcgft
907 |a .b21101334
940 |a MARCIVE 10/2022
945 |y .i34866826|i 36120004341990|l suanf|s -|h |u 3|x 0|w 3|v 0|t 100|z 220902|j 12-01-2022 21:25|r m|a NEW 940.5425 B544m
945 |y .i34872929|i 30135001323367|l haanf|s -|h 221217|u 4|x 0|w 4|v 1|t 100|z 220909|j 11-03-2022 17:03|r m|a 940.54 BIS
945 |y .i34895036|i 30045000444777|l meanf|s t|h |u 2|x 0|w 2|v 1|t 100|z 220922|j 11-30-2022 23:00|r m|a 940.54 BIS
945 |y .i34897331|i 39576101082380|l asanf|s -|h |u 3|x 0|w 3|v 0|t 100|z 220923|j 12-01-2022 18:49|r m|a 940.54 BIS
945 |y .i34913245|i 30175000442362|l lcanf|s t|h |u 1|x 0|w 1|v 0|t 100|z 221004|j 11-14-2022 18:42|r m|a 940.5425 BIS
945 |y .i34921242|i 30205000456458|l mranf|s -|h |u 1|x 0|w 1|v 1|t 107|z 221007|j 11-18-2022 21:32|r m|a 940.54 BIS History
945 |y .i34925697|i 30135001495884|l haanf|s -|h 221209|u 2|x 0|w 2|v 0|t 100|z 221011|j 11-04-2022 14:45|r m|a NEW 940.54 BIS c.2
945 |y .i34936105|i 30275000462640|l saanf|s -|h 221221|u 2|x 0|w 2|v 0|t 100|z 221018|j 11-28-2022 17:16|r m|a NEW 940.54 BIS
945 |y .i34959440|i 30145000201381|l huanf|s -|h 221208|u 1|x 0|w 1|v 0|t 100|z 221101|r m|a 940.54 BIS
945 |y .i35002931|i 9780062879929|l winon|s p|h |u 0|x 0|w 0|v 0|t 100|z 221203|r m|a 940.5425 BIS
998 |h c|e l |f eng|a as|a ha|a hu|a lc|a me|a mr|a sa|a su