Stream thousands of fine art and hand-crafting classes with Creativebug. Check it out here!

Vaughn Public Library - Ashland

White horse
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published:
New York : Flatiron Books, 2022.
Format:
Book
Edition:
First edition.
Physical Desc:
309 pages ; 25 cm.
Status:
Ashland Adult Fiction
WURTH
Description
For fans of Mexican Gothic and The Shining, White Horse is a gritty, vibrant debut from Erika T. Wurth about an Urban Native woman who must face her past when she discovers a bracelet haunted by her mother’s spirit.
Also in This Series
Copies
Location
Call Number
Status
Last Check-In
Ashland Adult Fiction
WURTH
Available
Mar 14, 2023
Location
Call Number
Status
Last Check-In
Bayfield Adult Fiction
FIC WUR
Available
Oct 14, 2023
Hayward Adult And Young Adult Fiction
WUR
Available
Feb 27, 2024
Lac Courte Oreilles Adult Nonfiction
NA 813.6 WUR
Available
Apr 24, 2023
Red Cliff Native fiction
NA FIC WUR
Available
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Details
Language:
English
ISBN:
9781250847652, 1250847656

Notes

Description
Some people are haunted in more ways than one. Old denim jackets, ripped jeans, Stephen King novels, and the occasional beer at the White Horse Lounge have defined urban Indian Kari James's life so far. But when her cousin Debby finds an old family bracelet that once belonged to Kari's mother, it inadvertently calls up both her mother's ghost and a monstrous entity, and her willful ignorance about her past is no longer sustainable... Haunted by visions of her mother and hunted by this mysterious creature, Kari must search for what happened to her mother all those years ago. Her father, permanently disabled from a car crash, can't help her. Her Auntie Squeaker seems to know something, but isn't eager to give it all up at once. Debby's anxious to help, but her controlling husband keeps getting in the way. Kari's journey towards a truth long-denied by both her family and law enforcement forces her to confront her dysfunctional relationships, her spiritual beliefs, and her desire for the one thing she's always wanted but could never have.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Wurth, E. T. (2022). White horse. First edition. New York, Flatiron Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Wurth, Erika T.. 2022. White Horse. New York, Flatiron Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Wurth, Erika T., White Horse. New York, Flatiron Books, 2022.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Wurth, Erika T.. White Horse. First edition. New York, Flatiron Books, 2022.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2022. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
8033bdda-b165-83d1-0148-ced6d4e99c57
Go To GroupedWork

Record Information

Last Sierra Extract TimeMay 09, 2024 01:35:30 PM
Last File Modification TimeMay 14, 2024 06:39:54 PM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeMay 18, 2024 04:42:08 AM

MARC Record

LEADER02649pam a2200373 i 4500
008220519t20222022nyu    e      000 1 eng  
010 |a 2022020897
020 |a 9781250847652|q (hardcover)
020 |a 1250847656|q (hardcover)
040 |a DLC|b eng|e rda|c DLC|d DLC|d SKYRV|d ABG|d SKYRV
042 |a pcc
08200|a 813/.6|2 23
1001 |a Wurth, Erika T.,|e author.
24510|a White horse /|c Erika T. Wurth.
250 |a First edition.
264 1|a New York :|b Flatiron Books,|c 2022.
264 4|c ©2022.
300 |a 309 pages ;|c 25 cm.
336 |a text|b txt|2 rdacontent.
337 |a unmediated|b n|2 rdamedia.
338 |a volume|b nc|2 rdacarrier.
520 |a Some people are haunted in more ways than one. Old denim jackets, ripped jeans, Stephen King novels, and the occasional beer at the White Horse Lounge have defined urban Indian Kari James's life so far. But when her cousin Debby finds an old family bracelet that once belonged to Kari's mother, it inadvertently calls up both her mother's ghost and a monstrous entity, and her willful ignorance about her past is no longer sustainable... Haunted by visions of her mother and hunted by this mysterious creature, Kari must search for what happened to her mother all those years ago. Her father, permanently disabled from a car crash, can't help her. Her Auntie Squeaker seems to know something, but isn't eager to give it all up at once. Debby's anxious to help, but her controlling husband keeps getting in the way. Kari's journey towards a truth long-denied by both her family and law enforcement forces her to confront her dysfunctional relationships, her spiritual beliefs, and her desire for the one thing she's always wanted but could never have.
650 0|a Family secrets|v Fiction.
650 0|a Indians of North America|v Fiction.
655 7|a Ghost stories.|2 lcgft.
907 |a .b21129861|b multi|c c
902 |a 240509
998 |b 4|c 221027|d a|e l |h c|f eng|g 0
940 |a MARCIVE 11/2022
945 |a WURTH|g 1|h  |i 39576101088262|j 03-14-2023 12:06|l asfic|o l|p $28.00|q -|r l|s - |t 100|u 6|v 2|w 0|x 4|y .i34943687|z 221021
945 |a FIC WUR|g 1|h  |i 30105000645441|j 10-14-2023 11:07|l bafic|o l|p $28.00|q -|r l|s - |t 100|u 4|v 0|w 0|x 4|y .i35209628|z 230503
945 |a WUR|g 1|h  |i 30135001508348|j 02-27-2024 11:43|l hafic|o l|p $28.00|q -|r l|s - |t 100|u 3|v 1|w 1|x 1|y .i34967138|z 221107
945 |a NA 813.6 WUR|g 1|h  |i 30175000445571|j 04-24-2023 9:26|l lcanf|o l|p $27.99|q -|r m|s - |t 100|u 2|v 0|w 0|x 2|y .i35044561|z 230109
945 |a NA FIC WUR|g 1|h  |i 30225000116373|j  - - |l rcnfi|o l|p $27.99|q -|r -|s - |t 100|u 0|v 0|w 0|x 0|y .i35213711|z 230508